The Gerontological Society of America annouces 2006 Hartford Pre-Dissertation Award winners

The Gerontological of America is pleased to introduce the twenty recipients of the 2006 Hartford Doctoral Fellows Pre-Dissertation Award. With funding from the John A. Hartford Foundation, the program provides this cohort with the opportunities for successful careers in gerontological social work.

The awards are administered by The Gerontological Society of America and co-sponsored by the Association for Gerontological Education and Social Work (AGE-SW). The program is overseen by National Hartford Fellows Director James Lubben of Boston College and Carmen L. Morano of the University of Maryland.

Each awardee will be given stipends to attend both GSA's November 2006 Annual Scientific Meeting in Dallas, TX and The Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR) January 2007 Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA. There they will attend workshops designed to develop their research skills.

The recipients are listed below:

Donna Aguiniga
University of Texas-Austin
(sponsor: Namkee Choi)

Shawn King
Ohio State University
(sponsor: Virginia Richardson)

Erica Auh
University of California-Berkeley
(sponsor: Andy Scharlach)

Robert Larson
Hunter College
(sponsor: Irwin Epstein)

Kathleen Bailey
Arizona State University
(sponsor: Suk-Young Kang)

Amanda Lehning
University of California-Berkeley
(sponsor: Andy Scharlach)

Aisha Bonner
Howard University
(sponsor: Elizabeth Bertera)

Mary Morrissey
Fordham University
(sponsor: Pat Brownell)

Mary Dennis
University of Michigan
(sponsor: Ruth Dunkle)

Jeannine Rowe
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
(sponsor: Rhonda Montgomery)

Marissa Hansen
University of Southern California
(sponsor: Maria Aranda)

Paul Sacco
Washington University-St. Louis
(sponsor: Nancy Morrow-Howell)

Jessica Haxton
University of Denver
(sponsor: Colleen Reed)

Erica Solway
University of California-San Francisco
(sponsor: Carroll Estes)

Camille Huggins
New York University
(sponsor: Jeane Anastas)

Donna Wang
Fordham University
(sponsor: Cynthia Poindexter)

Hyo Jin Jung
Washington University-St. Louis
(sponsor: Nancy Morrow-Howell)

Karla Washington
University of Missouri-Columbia
(sponsor: Debra Parker-Oliver)

Dennis Kao
University of Southern California
(sponsor: Iris Chi)

Erin Weir
University of Michigan
(sponsor: Ruth Dunkle)


The Gerontological Society of America (GSA), founded in 1945, is the oldest and largest national multidisciplinary scientific organization devoted to the advancement of gerontological research. Its membership includes some 5,000+ researchers, educators, practitioners, and other professionals in the field of aging. The Society's principal missions are to promote research and education in aging and to encourage the dissemination of research results to other scientists, decision makers, and practitioners.

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 30 Apr 2016
    Published on All rights reserved.