Winners of The Laureates of Tomorrow - Nobel Essay Contest announced

Three NYC students from Bronx and Manhattan high schools win trip to Nobel Prize ceremonies in Sweden

Three NYC high school juniors from the Bronx and Manhattan were named the winners of the second annual The Laureates of Tomorrow - Nobel Essay Contest at a ceremony held on June 12 at 11 a.m. at the Nobel Monument located inside Theodore Roosevelt Park in Manhattan.

The winners received the grand prize: a free, all-expenses paid trip to Sweden to attend the Nobel Prize ceremonies in December.

They are:

Winner Physics
Mr. Gena Rozenberg
Bronx High School of Science
Essay title: "Eric A. Cornell and the Bose-Einstein Condensate."

Winner Chemistry
Ms. Natasha Plotkin
Hunter College High School, Manhattan
Essay title: "Richard Ernst and the Transformation of NMR Spectroscopy."

Winner Medicine
Mr. Avishai Don
SAR High School, The Bronx
Essay title: "Karl Landsteiner: Three Simple Letters that Saved Millions."

The competition, open to all juniors in NYC public, private, and parochial schools, required students to write essays examining the impact on science and society of major scientific achievements by Nobel Prize winners in physics, chemistry or physiology/ medicine. Thirty finalists, from 18 different city schools, had to defend their essays before a panel of outstanding scientists and journalists. The contest is presented by a partnership between the Consulate General of Sweden, New York Academy of Sciences and the official Web site of the Nobel Foundation, working in collaboration with the New York City Department of Education, and The City University of New York. Exclusive to New York City, the contest reflects the fact that New York leads all other cities around the world with more than 100 Nobel Laureates.

The program included remarks by Professor Richard R. Schrock, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, and Professor Roy Glauber, a native New Yorker alumnus from Bronx High School of Science. "I first studied physics right here in New York City, at Bronx Science, so it is a special pleasure to be honored here along with the young winners of the Nobel Essay Contest. Their achievement proves that New York continues to be devoted to superior science education and opportunities, and I am delighted to be part of the event announcing this year's 'Laureates of Tomorrow'," said Professor Glauber.

Ambassador Ulf Hjertonsson, Consul General of Sweden in New York commented, "The Nobel Monument inspired the Consulate General of Sweden to propose this contest, as we want to encourage local high school students to envision the possibility of one day having their own names engraved onto the monument. This year is truly special since we have two generations representing Bronx High School of Science: Professor Roy Glauber, class of 1941 and Nobel Laureate 2005, and Gena Rozenberg, future class of 2007 and Laureate of Tomorrow 2006."


For more details regarding The Laureates of Tomorrow Nobel Essay Contest:

For more information about the Nobel Monument:

For more information, please contact Alyssa Lord, Program Manager, Education, at 212-838-0230 ext 503 or email [email protected].

Founded in 1817, the New York Academy of Sciences is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to building communities and advancing science.

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 30 Apr 2016
    Published on All rights reserved.