Early-career researchers earn American Physiological Society tum Suden/Hellebrandt awards

Awardees selected from among 134 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who are first author of a study; will present their research at Experimental Biology annual conference April 1-5 in San Francisco

BETHESDA, Md (Feb. 28, 2006) Thirty six men and women who have done exemplary research will receive the Caroline tum Suden/Frances A. Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award from the American Physiological Society (APS).

The APS Women in Physiology Committee selected the awardees from among 134 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who are the first author of a study they will present at the Experimental Biology (EB) 2006 conference, April 1-5 in San Francisco.

The APS selection committee makes the tum Suden/Hellebrandt award with an eye to the awardee's research, which must state a clear hypothesis, have a solid experimental design, and a clearly stated conclusion that includes a statement of the research's significance to the researcher's scientific field.

The award, which carries a $500 prize and complimentary EB registration, is named for Caroline tum Suden and Frances A. Hellebrandt, physiologists and researchers born at the beginning of the 20th century who mentored young researchers during lengthy academic careers.

Tum Suden (1900-1976) did much of her early research on the function of the adrenal gland. Frances A. Hellebrandt (1901-1992) was a pioneer in exercise physiology and rehabilitation and served on the editorial board of the Journal of Applied Physiology published by APS.

The 2006 Caroline tum Suden/Frances A. Hellebrandt award winners are as follows:

Dartmouth Medical School Jennifer M. Bomberger and Emily Cordas
Harvard University, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Jeffrey R. Scott
Henry Ford Hospital Guillermo Silva
Kansas State University Bryan G. Helwig and Rebecca R. Quesnell
Louisiana State University Health Science Center Paul A. Rogers
Michigan State University Carrie A. Northcott
New York Medical College Zsuzsanna Orosz, Janos Toth
Pennsylvania State University Lacy A. Holowatz
St. Louis University School of Medicine Madelyn Stumpf
Stanford University Chin Chen
University of California-Los Angeles Johana Vallejo-Rodriguez
University of Cincinnati Stella A. Nicolaou
University College (Cork, Ireland) Belinda L. Houghton
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Melissa A. Burmeister, Darren Hoffmann and Patricia Westmoreland
University of Michigan James C. Hunter
University of Mississippi Medical Center Wei Tan
University of Missouri F. Spencer Gaskin
University of Nebraska Medical Center Tarek M. Mousa
University of New Mexico Kyan J. Allahdadi, Brad Broughton, Tom Cherng and Paulette Yamada
University of South Alabama Diego F. Alvarez
University of South Florida Lavanya Balasubramanian
University of Southern California Karen R. Kelly and Marcella Raney
University of Tennessee Medical Center Sherry Kasper
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Wook Song and Weirong Zhang
University of Wisconsin Julia E.R. Wilkerson
York University (Toronto) Eric Ispanovic


The American Physiological Society was founded in 1887 to foster basic and applied bioscience. The Bethesda, Maryland-based society has more than 10,000 members and publishes 14 peer-reviewed journals containing almost 4,000 articles annually.

APS provides a wide range of research, educational and career support and programming to further the contributions of physiology to understanding the mechanisms of diseased and healthy states. In May 2004, APS received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM).

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 30 Apr 2016
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.