Australian National University's Anstey wins GSA's 2005 Margret M. Baltes Award


The Gerontological Society of America has chosen Dr. Kaarin Anstey of Australian National University as the 2005 recipient of the Margret M. Baltes Early Career Award in Behavioral and Social Gerontology. This distinguished honor, given annually, recognizes outstanding early career contributions in behavioral and social gerontology.

The award presentation will take place at GSA's 58th Annual Scientific Meeting, which will be held from November 18th-22nd, 2005 in Orlando, FL. The actual conferral will occur on Sunday the 20th at 10:30 a.m. at the Orlando World Center Marriott Resort. The meeting is organized to foster interdisciplinary interactions among clinical, administrative, and research professionals who specialize in the study of the aging process.

Anstey is currently a fellow at Australian National University and serves as director of its Ageing Research Unit. Understanding cognitive aging is the central focus of her research. Her other interests include mood and depression, psychometrics, the measurement of change, and behavioral consequences of a variety of illnesses, functional limitations, or losses.

At this point in her career, she is listed in the ISI Essential Sciences Indicators as one of the top one percent of most-cited researcher in the social sciences over the past decade. Anstey has also been acknowledged by a range of international awards for early-career researchers. These include the Chinoin Young Investigator Award from the International Association of Gerontology, the Medal of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia, the Australian Psychological Society Early Career Award, the Organon Award of the Australasian Society for Psychiatric Research, and Elsie Harwood Award for Best Honors Thesis in the Field of Aging.

The Baltes award is given to a person from any discipline in the social sciences. Only individuals who have received their doctorate within the last ten years are eligible. The winner traditionally presents a lecture at the Annual Scientific Meeting the following year. The award is given by GSA in conjunction with the Margret M. Baltes Foundation.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.