Institute of Medicine: IOM Honors members for outstanding service


WASHINGTON -- The Institute of Medicine of the National Academies honored members Ada Sue Hinshaw, Henry Riecken, and Torsten Wiesel for their outstanding service to the Institute at an awards ceremony during its 35th anniversary celebration on Oct. 23.

Hinshaw was awarded the Walsh McDermott Medal, which is given to an IOM member for distinguished service over an extended period of time. She is currently dean of the School of Nursing at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and has served two consecutive terms on both the Institute's Council (1999-2004) and Membership Committee (1995-1999). Hinshaw also served as vice chair of the Committee on Work Environment for Nurses and Patient Safety, and as a member of five other IOM committees and the Board on Health Sciences Policy.

Riecken was presented the Adam Yarmolinsky Medal, awarded to an IOM member from a discipline outside the health and medical sciences. An emeritus professor of behavioral sciences at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, he has been a long-time member of the National Academies' Report Review Committee and Governing Board. Over the years Riecken has consistently contributed to improving the quality of IOM reports and the procedures for peer review.

Wiesel received the David Rall Medal, awarded to an IOM member who has demonstrated particularly distinguished leadership as chair of a study committee or other activity, showing commitment above and beyond the usual responsibilities of the position. He is president emeritus of Rockefeller University, and is honored for his exemplary leadership as chair (1994-2004) of the Committee on Human Rights of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine. In this role, he has given considerable time and authority to the cause of persecuted scientists and physicians around the world.

Nominations for the three membership awards were solicited from IOM members and staff. The Institute of Medicine is a private, nonprofit organization that provides health policy advice under a congressional charter granted to the National Academy of Sciences.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.