APA gives media recognition award to CBS News' The Early Show


WASHINGTON -- CBS News' popular morning news program, The Early Show, will receive the 2005 News Media Recognition Award for excellence in reporting of psychological research and information. The Media Watch Committee of the American Psychological Association's (APA) Division of Media Psychology will honor The Early Show's news team during the opening session of the convention on Thursday, August 18 at 5:00 PM in the Washington Convention Center, Level 3, Ballroom.

APA's Media Watch Committee selected The Early Show for their national coverage of psychological issues. "The work of The Early Show, including the HealthWatch segment has played a key role in keeping the public informed about important psychological information to benefit their well-being and also in helping to understand world events," says Elizabeth Carll, PhD, chair of the Media Watch Committee.

The Early Show's producer and on air representatives to be honored include Michael Bass, Harry Smith, Julie Chen, Hannah Storm, and René Syler. CBS will produce a video news clip of the honorees accepting the award. The video clip will be played after the presentation of the award during the opening session of the APA Convention.

The News Media Recognition Award was created by the Media Watch Committee of the APA's Division of Media Psychology to recognize excellence in the reporting of psychological information and research in the nation's media.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.