News conference on emerging plant diseases

07/20/05

Event: News conference on emerging plant diseases

Find out the latest information on plant diseases that are significantly affecting the economy and the environment at a news conference on August 1, 2005 at 10 a.m. Central Time. The news conference will be held during The American Phytopathological Society (APS) Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.

Leading plant disease experts will provide an update on the following diseases:

  • Citrus Canker
  • Bacterial Wilt
  • Plum Pox
  • Sudden Oak Death
  • Soybean Rust

    Reporters and editors will have an opportunity to address the speakers during a Q&A session at the end of the news conference.

    Time/Date: Monday, August 1, at 10 a.m. Central Time (11 a.m. ET, 9 a.m. MT, 8 a.m. PT)

    Location: Austin Convention Center, Room 19B, 500 East Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701

    To participate by telephone, call 888.872.2038 and enter guest code 1202#

    Please call a few minutes ahead.

    Interview Opportunities: The following plant disease experts will participate in the event.

  • Tim Gottwald, USDA Agriculture Research Service – speaking on Citrus Canker
  • Caitilyn Allen, University of Wisconsin – speaking on Bacterial Wilt
  • Vern Damsteegt, USDA Agriculture Research Service – speaking on Plum Pox
  • Paul Tooley, USDA Agriculture Research Service - speaking on Sudden Oak Death
  • Matt Royer, USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) – speaking on Soybean Rust

    To receive background materials on these diseases, contact Amy Steigman at asteigman@scisoc.org or +1.651.994.3802.

    Members of the media are extended complimentary registration to APS annual meeting events. To register for the annual meeting, contact Amy Steigman.

    The American Phytopathological Society (APS) is a non-profit, professional scientific organization. The research of the organization's 5,000 worldwide members advances the understanding of the science of plant pathology and its application to plant health.

    Source: Eurekalert & others

    Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
        Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.

     

     

    When humor goes, there goes civilization.
    -- Erma Bombeck
  •