Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologist Section names Jan Winn as outstanding educator


Associate professor of radiologic technology at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center honored during 52nd Annual Meeting in Toronto

TORONTO, Canada--Jan Winn, M.Ed., RT(N), CNMT, of Edmond, Okla., was named recipient of the Outstanding Educator Award by the Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologist Section (SNMTS) during SNM's 52nd Annual Meeting June 1822 in Toronto. SNMTS President Nanci A. Burchell, CNMT, FSNMTS, presented the award at the Technologist Section's June 21 business meeting. The Education and Research Foundation for the Society of Nuclear Medicine provided funding for this award.

Winn has been an associate professor in the department of radiologic technology in the college of allied health at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC), Oklahoma City, Okla., since 2000. She is also the department's vice chair, nuclear medicine program director and Web program director.

"Jan Winn is an exceptional educator whose recommendations pointed out her unique ability to easily explain complex concepts," said SNMTS President Nanci A. Burchell, CNMT, FSNMTS. "She incorporates the latest information in her classes, including new radiopharmaceuticals and the most updated protocols. She constantly seeks feedback from her students and technologists to ensure that the program is preparing students to be the best health care professionals," added Burchell.

An SNMTS member since 1985, Winn received her master's degree in the areas of historical, philosophical and social foundations of education from the University of Oklahoma and her bachelor's degree in radiologic technology in the area of nuclear medicine technology from OUHSC. The SNM Southwestern Chapter member is certified by the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.

Winn, who is chair of the board of directors of the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology, has also served as its vice chair and as BOD member. She has been an accreditation site visitor since 1995.

The 2003 recipient of the University of Oklahoma Presidential Professorship Award, Winn has also received the 2002 OUHSC Faculty Governance Award, the Student Council Outstanding Teacher Award, the Philip E. Smith Service Award and many other honors and awards. She has taught courses such as the Introduction to Clinical Nuclear Medicine Technology, Principles of Nuclear Medicine, Medical Ethics and Law, Nuclear Pharmacy, Laboratory Regulations and Accreditation in Nuclear Medicine, Advanced Clinical Nuclear Medicine Technology and Imaging Devices in Nuclear Medicine. She is the author of five peer-reviewed articles and numerous abstracts, posters, presentations and proposals. She has been a member of the Radiologic Technology editorial review board since 1998.

In addition, Winn is a member of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, the Oklahoma Section of the Society of Nuclear Medicine, the Oklahoma Society of Radiologic Technologists, the Association of Educators in Radiologic Sciences and the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology.

"It is an honor to receive the Outstanding Educator Award," said Winn. "It's wonderful that SNMTS leadership created this award to recognize educators in nuclear medicine technology," she added. Winn, who will receive $750 and a plaque, thanked Vesper Grantham, CNMT, her colleagues, students and alumni who supported her nomination for this honor.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.