AIUM to honor ultrasound pioneers at the 2005 AIUM 50th Anniversary convention


LAUREL, MD -- The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) will present awards to several individuals who have significantly contributed to the field of medical diagnostic ultrasound at the 2005 AIUM 50th Anniversary Convention in Orlando, Florida, on June 19, 2005.

The 2005 William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award recipient will be Richard Meyer, MD. William J. Fry was a physicist with a strong interest in ultrasound in biology and medicine, whose innovative research efforts advanced the field of diagnostic sonography. In 1969, the William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award, which recognizes an individual who has significantly contributed, in his or her particular field, to the scientific progress of medical diagnostic ultrasound, was established in his honor.

The 2005 Joseph H. Holmes Pioneer Award will go to Barbara Gosink, MD, in the category of clinical science, and to George Kossoff, DScEng, in basic science. The award was established in 1977 to honor individuals who have contributed to the growth and development of diagnostic ultrasound. Joseph H. Holmes, MD, was an important figure to both the field of diagnostic ultrasound and the AIUM.

The 2005 Distinguished Sonographer Award will be presented to Cindy Rapp, BS, RDMS, RDCS. Established in 1997, the Distinguished Sonographer Award is a means of honoring an AIUM member sonographer whose outstanding contributions to the development of diagnostic ultrasound warrant special merit.

The 2005 Honorary Fellow Award will be presented to Michel Claudon, MD. The Honorary Fellow Award recognizes nonmembers who have contributed significantly to the field of ultrasound. Dr. Claudon will receive a complimentary lifetime membership to the AIUM.

*Photographs and biographies are available for each winner.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.