APS awards $63,000 in travel fellowships to minority scientists


BETHESDA, Md. The American Physiological Society (APS) has awarded 42 minority travel fellowships to the 2005 International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS) Congress. Students from across the U.S. and Puerto Rico received these fellowships to facilitate their participation in IUPS 2005 (held in conjunction with Experimental Biology 2005), which will attract more than 16,000 scientists from dozens of scientific disciplines.

The purpose of this fellowship program is to increase the participation of pre- and postdoctoral minority students in the physiological sciences. All awardees receive funds for transportation, meals, lodging and complimentary meeting registration. IUPS 2005 will be held from March 31 April 5 in San Diego, Ca.

In addition to attending the meeting, each fellow is paired with an APS member who will serve as a mentor throughout the conference. Mentors offer guidance on appropriate sessions to attend, introduce fellows to other scientists and provide career advice.

These fellowships are made possible through grants from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK).

2005 APS Minority Travel Fellows:

Medical College of Georgia
Tracy D. Bell
Dexter L. Lee
Ian M. Rivera
Jan M. Williams

Tulane University Health Sciences Center
Torrance Green
Keith E. Jackson

University of Arizona
Jessica A. Clark

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Chastity M. Bradford
Clintoria R. Williams

University of Louisville School of Medicine
Adrienne P. Bratcher
Mesia M. Steed

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Raul Camacho
Julio E. Ayala

University of New Mexico
Jessica M. Bryant
C. Nathaniel Roybal
Jason R. Griego
Samantha N. Torres
Carmen Troncoso

University of Mississippi Medical Center
Derrick Chandler
Nikki Jernigan

University of Iowa
Marc Doobay
Shawn D. Hingtgen

Michigan State University
Jennifer Edwards
Keshari Thakali

Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Shea Gilliam-Davis

Baylor College of Medicine
Anjelica L. Gonzalez

University of North Texas Health Science Center
Shavsha C. Johnson-Davis

University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus
Nildris Cruz-Diaz

University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Alie Kanu

Henry Ford Hospital
Crystal D. Little
Maria Marcela Herrera

New Mexico Highlands University
Monica Marthell

Florida A & M University
Ceceile A. Mason

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
Diego F. Nino
Keisha C. Williams

Meharry Medical College
Philip D. Palmer
Myla M. Patterson
Elethia A. Woolfolk

Ohio State University
William Richards

New Mexico State University
Aerial L. Singleton

UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
Johana Vallejo

University of Wisconsin-Madison
Julia E.R. Wilkerson

The travel awards are open to graduate students, postdoctoral students and advanced undergraduate students for minority groups underrepresented in science (African Americans, Hispanics, Native Americans and Pacific Islanders). For more information, please contact Stacy Brooks at 301-634-7253 or [email protected], or visit http://www.the-aps.org/education/minority_prog/index.htm.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.