Three Nobel laureates to speak at 06 AACBNC Meeting


Dr. Aaron Ciechanover, Dr. Russell Hulse and Dr. Alan MacDiarmid to discuss the future of interdisciplinary research and training

February 22, 2005 - The theme of the next annual meeting of the Association of Anatomy, Cell Biology and Neurobiology Chairpersons (AACBNC) will be "The Future of Interdisciplinary Research and Training: Breaking Down the Barriers." Dr. Steven R. Goodman, President of the AACBNC, organized the meeting that will be held on January 18th to 21st 2006.

Dr. Goodman stated, "My dream was to have three Nobel Laureates who worked in the physical and life sciences attend the meeting to discuss the future of interdisciplinary research and training. Sometimes dreams come true." Goodman has recruited Dr. Aaron J. Ciechanover (Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2004), Dr. Russell A. Hulse (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1993), and Dr. Alan G. MacDiarmid (Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2000) to participate in the 06 meeting.

"They won their Nobel Prize for discovering the ubiquitin-proteasome system, binary pulsars, and conducting polymers respectively. These are fundamental discoveries in cell biology, chemistry, and physics." said Goodman. Hulse, MacDiarmid, and Goodman all hold endowed chairs at the University of Texas at Dallas, while Ciechanover holds a chair at the Technion Israel Institute of Technology.

During the meeting, the Nobel Laureates will give lectures on their groundbreaking research and be participants in two round-table discussions. The first round-table discussion will be on the future of interdisciplinary research and training, and will be moderated by Goodman. The second round-table discussion will be the impact of interdisciplinary and inter-institutional research upon issues such as conflict of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and promotion and tenure. The second round-table discussion will be moderated by Susan H. Ehringhaus, J.D., General Counsel for the AAMC, who is an expert on conflict of interest. Additional participants will be Chris B. Pascal, J.D., who is the Director of the Office of Research Integrity at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and Da Hsuan Feng, Ph.D. who is Vice President for Research at the University of Texas at Dallas.

To assure that the presentations at this historical meeting reach a wide audience the proceedings will be published by the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine (SEBM) in their multidisciplinary journal, Experimental Biology and Medicine (EBM). This special issue of EBM will be co-edited by Dr. Goodman and Dr. Charles A. Blake, President-Elect of SEBM, former Secretary-Treasurer of the AACBNC and a faculty member at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine.

The issue will contain complete transcripts of the two roundtable discussions, as well as scientific articles written by the three Nobel Laureates. Dr. Blake said, "this publication should highlight the importance of our nation forging ahead with interdisciplinary research, institutions overcoming the administrative and political challenges it will present, and the exponential progress and rewards that will accrue in the basic and medical sciences as a result of interdisciplinary research in the 21st century."

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.