Fritz Lipmann lecture will look at enzyme biosynthesis of peptide natural products


Bethesda, Maryland, February 8, 2005: Christopher T. Walsh, Hamilton Kuhn Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School, has been chosen for the Fritz Lipmann Lectureship at the 2005 American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) Meeting. In his award lecture, on Monday, April 4 at 4:45 p.m. at the ASBMB Annual Meeting in San Diego, Dr. Walsh will discuss his research on nonribosomal peptide synthetases.

Dr. Walsh is an outstanding and highly productive researcher who uses a broad integrated approach that includes genetics, protein and carbohydrate chemistry, mechanistic enzymology, molecular biology and X-ray crystallography to elucidate and exploit the pathways for natural antibiotic synthesis. This body of work not only defines pathways for antibiotic synthesis, the molecular targets of antibiotic action, and the mechanisms of antibiotic resistance, but also serves as a platform for the synthesis of novel antibiotics. Dr. Walsh is also an accomplished mentor who has provided rigorous and insightful training for many younger scientists.

In his Frtiz Lipmann Lecture, he will focus on his research on nonribosomal peptide synthetases and the building and tailoring of peptide natural products. A large variety of biologically active peptide natural products are biosynthesized by the nonribosomal peptide synthetases. These synthetases act in assembly lines to carry out initiation, elongation, and termination reactions. Once released from these assembly lines, the peptides are often tailored by enzymes that glycosylate, oxygenate, and halogenate. Dr. Walsh will discuss some examples that illustrate the molecular logic of the enzymatic assembly lines and the tailoring enzymes.

The Fritz Lipmann Lectureship was established by friends and colleagues of Fritz Lipmann. Previous awardees include Roddrick MacKinnon, Ulrich Hartl, James E. Rothman, Helmut Beinert, and Wayne A. Hendrickson. The recipient of the award receives a stipend and a plaque. In addition, they are reimbursed for all travel, hotel accommodations, meals, and expenses to attend the meeting, where they will deliver the Fritz Lipmann Lecture.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.