Frontiers in cancer prevention research: Defeating cancer before it strikes

10/16/04

The American Association for Cancer Research hosting third annual international conference on frontiers in cancer prevention research

WHAT: To turn back cancer before it has a chance to take root and spread, scientists are increasingly turning their attention to new discoveries in cancer prevention. Leading experts from around the globe are gathering to share the latest research in this expanding and promising new field, with the hope this work will significantly reduce cancer incidence and mortality.

The future of cancer prevention relies heavily on:

  • identifying promising targets for drug development;
  • understanding how personal decisions are linked to cancer and identifying high-risk populations;
  • developing pre-clinical drug-testing models; and
  • tailoring prevention strategies to genetic profiles.

    WHEN: Saturday Wednesday, October 16 20, 2004

    WHERE: Washington State Convention & Trade Center
    Seattle, WA

    AACR Press Room:
    Location: Room 309, Third Level
    Hours: 8:00 am 6:00 pm Daily
    Telephone: 206-219-4772
    Fax: 206-219-4773
    E-mail: communications@aacr.org
    Press Briefing Schedule: These briefings are only open to members of the media.

    Sunday, October 17th

  • Diabetes, Infection and Dietary Risks: 9:30 am 10:30 am PST (12:30 pm EST)
  • Risks Linked to Prostate and Stomach Cancer: 11:30 am 12:30 pm PST (2:30 pm EST)

    Monday, October 18th

  • Antioxidants, Food Extracts and Prevention: 9:30 am 10:30 am PST (12:30 pm EST)
  • Early Warnings & Diagnosis of Gender-Related Cancers: 11:30 am 12:30 pm PST (2:30 pm EST)

    Tuesday, October 19th

  • New Tools in Chemoprevention against Prostate, Colon & Skin Cancers: 9:30 am 10:30 am PST (12:30 pm EST) -
  • SPECIAL SESSION: Panel Discussion on Vioxx: 1:15 pm 2:15 pm PST (4:15 pm EST)

    The Vioxx panel discussion is not a press conference; this special session was recently added to the meeting's program. Moderated by Dr. John Potter, Chairperson of the Program Committee, leading researchers in the field will address the withdrawal of Vioxx from the market and the resulting implications on future preventative research and treatment programs.

    Contact/Press Registration: Yarissa Ortiz/AACR
    215-440-9300, ext. 101
    in Seattle: 206-219-4772
    ortiz@aacr.org

    Source: Eurekalert & others

    Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
        Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.

     

     

    Show me a sane man and I will cure him for you.
    -- Carl Jung
  •