ICTP celebrates 40th anniversary, 'Legacy for the Future'


Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics examines progress in scientific research over past four decades. Focus on developing world

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, in Trieste, Italy, will hold a two-day anniversary conference. Four Nobel Laureates to attend.

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) will celebrate its 40th anniversary on 4-5 October. The anniversary conference, 'Legacy for the Future,' will be held in the Centre's Main Building located on the Miramare campus in Trieste, Italy.

Some 200 scientists will be coming to Trieste to celebrate the anniversary of an institution that is widely respected and revered as one of the premier organizations for the promotion of science in the developing world. The following Nobel Laureates will be among the participants: Walter Kohn, University of California at Santa Barbara; Robert A. Marcus, California Institute of Technology; John Nash, Jr., Princeton University; and Ahmed H. Zewail, California Institute of Technology.

The ICTP operates under the administrative umbrella of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.