NASA's Aura satellite launch postponed

07/13/04

The launch of NASA's Aura spacecraft atop a Boeing Delta II rocket from California has been delayed for at least 24 hours. Launch will occur no earlier than Wednesday, July 14, with a three-minute window at 6:01:59 a.m. EDT (3:01:59 a.m. PDT).

During final T-20 minute hold before the scheduled launch this morning, spacecraft engineers decided they could not resolve an outstanding issue with a solid-state recorder. The mission management team will convene this afternoon at 6 p.m. EDT to confirm the new launch date of July 14.

On launch day programming on NASA Television will begin at 4 a.m. EDT (1 a.m. PDT) for the start of fueling of the Delta II. The launch commentary will begin at 4:30 a.m. EDT (1:30 a.m. PDT).

Media covering the launch should meet at the main gate of Vandenberg Air Force Base, Calif., at 2 a.m. PDT Wednesday, July 14, for escort to the Delta press site on north Vandenberg. Media needing accreditation for the launch should call Air Force Lt. Michelle Mayo at 805-606-3595 of the 30th Space Wing Public Affairs Office.

An Aura recorded launch status for the news media is available by dialing 805-734-2693.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.

 

 

In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.
-- Albert Einstein
 
Stumble This Article Print Email
Subscribe to Our Weekly Newsletter

Users Online: 13362
Join Us Now!



 




Find a Therapist
Enter ZIP or postal code