Cutting-edge cancer researchers sought for international recognition


American Association for Cancer Research accepting nominations for 2005 Landon-AACR prizes for basic and translational cancer research

The American Association for Cancer Research now is accepting nominations for the fourth annual Kirk A. and Dorothy P. Landon Foundation-AACR Prizes.

These two major international prizes recognize seminal basic and translational cancer research discoveries at the cutting edge of scientific novelty and significance. Eligible candidates are active, recently published scientists who have made extraordinary advances in cancer research, and whose scientific innovation and creativity have contributed to new directions in these fields.

The nomination process and other details about the prizes are located on the AACR Website at The nomination deadline is Tuesday, August 10, 2004.

The recipient of each prize will receive an unrestricted cash award of $200,000. Both will present lectures during the 96th AACR Annual Meeting, April 16-20, 2005, in Anaheim, Calif., to stimulate and inspire their colleagues to new thinking and fresh approaches in both basic and translational cancer research.

"The Landon-AACR Prizes offer an unprecedented opportunity to recognize the best work of the top cancer research scientists today," said Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.), chief executive officer of the AACR. "We are honored to work with the Landon Foundation in sponsoring these distinguished prizes.

R. Kirk Landon, President of the Kirk A. and Dorothy P. Landon Foundation, said, "It is the goal of the foundation to bring heightened public attention to landmark achievements in the continuing effort to prevent and cure cancer. The dynamic lectures given during the AACR Annual Meeting are the perfect forum for promoting and rewarding outstanding cancer research and for motivating cancer investigators around the world. The Kirk A. and Dorothy P. Landon Foundation has been delighted with our synergistic partnership with the AACR and looks forward to honoring the accomplishments of scientists in the years to come."

Past winners of the Kirk A. Landon-AACR Prize for Basic Cancer Research are:

Tony Hunter, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology,
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, Calif.

Charles J. Sherr, M.D., Ph.D.
Co-Chair, Department of Genetics & Tumor Cell Biology
Co-Director, Molecular Oncology Program Herrick Foundation Chair
St. Judes Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, Tenn.
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Robert N. Eisenman, Ph.D.
Member, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, Wash.

Past winners of the Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Prize for Translational Cancer Research

Raymond N. DuBois, M.D., Ph.D.
Hortense B. Ingram Professor of Molecular
Oncology and associate director for cancer prevention, control and population-based research Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville, Tenn.

Dennis J. Slamon, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Revlon/UCLA Women's Cancer Research Program
University of California, Los Angeles Jonsson Cancer Center
Los Angeles, Calif.

Elwood V. Jensen, Ph.D.
Visiting Professor, Department of Cell Biology
Vontz Center for Molecular Studies
University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio


V. Craig Jordan, Ph.D.
Diana, Princess of Wales Professor of Cancer Research
Professor of Cancer Pharmacology
Professor, Molecular Pharmacology and Biological Chemistry
Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
Director, Lynn Sage Breast Cancer Research Program,
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Chicago, Ill.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.