World's largest scientific society convenes regional meeting June 6-9 in Logan, Utah



Almost 300 papers will be presented at the combined 59th Northwest and 18th Rocky Mountain regional meeting of the American Chemical Society, the world's largest scientific society, in Logan, Utah, June 6-9. Approximately 500 scientists are expected to attend the meeting on the campus of Utah State University. Highlights include the following:

Novel materials and nanoscale devices A two-day symposium will explore cutting-edge topics such as the development of nanoelectronics, which could lead to better computers and biosensors, and biomolecular motors, which show promise for robotics and drug delivery systems. (Abstracts 25-40, Monday, June 7, 8:10 a.m.-5:30 p.m., Eccles Conference Center, Room 207, and abstracts 105-108, Tuesday, June 8, 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m., Eccles Conference Center, Room 207; Organizers: T.C. Shen, Utah State University, 435-797-7852, [email protected], and Richard C. Holz, Utah State, 435-797-2609, [email protected]).

Robert Hamers, the Helfaer Professor of Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, will give the opening plenary talk on Sunday, June 6, 7:00 p.m. The subject of Hamers' talk is "Chemistry at the Intersection of Microelectronics, Biology, and Nanotechnology."

The following awards will be presented at the meeting:

  • Robert Wardle, R. Scott Hamilton, H. Gene Johnston, and Vincent Mancini of ATK Thiokol Propulsion in Brigham City, Utah, will receive an ACS Industrial Innovation Award for development of a production scale synthesis of CL-20, a new energetic material.

  • Novella Bridges, Darrell Fisher, and Anna Gutowska of the Pacific Northwest Regional Laboratory in Richland, Wash., will also receive an ACS Industrial Innovation Award for development of RadioGelTM, a group of radiolabeled composites for use as therapeutic agents for cancer treatment.

Additional details can be found at The general chair of the meeting is Steve Scheiner, 435-797-7419, [email protected], to whom all press inquiries should be directed. The technical program chair is Alexander Boldyrev, 435-797-1630, [email protected].

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.