HeartScore launch - Press teleconference invitation

03/24/04

New interactive tool for CVD risk prediction and management



About HeartScore

HeartScore is a new software program developed by the ESC in order to improve cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk prediction and management and adherence to CVD prevention guidelines.

Recent data have demonstrated limitations in prevention guidelines usage, calling for more user-friendly interactive tools for risk prediction and management. HeartScore has been developed by the ESC to directly address such problems and offer a unique interactive European risk prediction tool to improve patient management and ultimately improve risk factor reduction and patient outcomes.

HeartScore is based on the Systematic Coronary Risk Evaluation (SCORE) and Denmark's PRECARD risk assessment tool, using the latest European Guidelines on CVD Prevention. With data from 210,000 patients taken from 12 European cohort studies, SCORE is unique in terms of scale, size and international adaptability.

The official launch of the European high-risk and low-risk versions of HeartScore is 2 April 2004 thus all materials relating to HeartScore are embargoed until 08.00 GMT /09.00 CET on this date. As of 2 April 2004, HeartScore will be available for physicians free of charge, downloadable direct from the ESC web site. The web link as of 2 April 2004 will be www.escardio.org/HeartScore

Press teleconference details

On 31 March 2004, 14.00 GMT / 15.00 CET, a press teleconference will take place on the HeartScore program and launch. Press are invited to register for this event, which will take place over the telephone with slides available via the ESC web site.

The agenda will be as follows:

14.00 GMT / 15.00 CET
General introduction on ESC and prevention initiatives
Professor Jean-Pierre Bassand, France, ESC President

14.05 GMT / 15.05 CET
Background and development of HeartScore
Professor Ian Graham, Ireland, Chairman, Joint European Societies Cardiovascular Prevention Committee

14.15 GMT / 15.15 CET
Live demonstration of HeartScore program and applications
Dr Troels Thomsen, Denmark, Principal Investigator of the HeartScore Project

14.25 GMT / 15.25 CET
Questions and answers
Teleconference will move from seminar format to interactive format

14.35 GMT / 15.35 CET
Teleconference ends
Press may request one-on-one interviews thereafter with any of the speakers or other Spokespersons of the ESC

Following the teleconference, the HeartScore program will be available for press download by registered press. Full press assistance and press materials will be available for registered press.

To attend the teleconference, please contact the ESC Press & PR Office to receive the teleconference telephone number, passcode and press pack. Registrations for the HeartScore teleconference will be accepted up to the deadline of 12.00 GMT (13.00 CET) on 31 March 2004.

The telephone number for the teleconference will be a free-phone number. If however you would prefer the teleconference provider to call you directly, please let us know, indicating the number on which you would like to be called. Please also ensure you will be available and on the line for the whole teleconference period.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.

 

 

The beauty of balance is that I can do it all and not feel bad about my choices, because every moment is an opportunity to start all over again.
Jorge Perez