Caroline Mohr wins 2004 Scherago-Rubin Award from American Society for Microbiology


WASHINGTON, DC--APRIL 23, 2004--Caroline I. Mohr, Microbiologist at the Epidemiology and Laboratory Branch, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Atlanta, Georgia, will receive the 2004 Scherago-Rubin Award from the American Society for Microbiology (ASM) in recognition of her outstanding work in the clinical laboratory. The award was established in 1987 by the late Sally Jo Rubin, an active member of ASM's Clinical Microbiology Division, in honor of her grandfather, Professor Morris Scherago.

An integral member of the Diagnostic Microbiology Section at the CDC since 1982, Mohr is a reference-level diagnostic specialist responsible for using well-established techniques to identify and classify microorganisms belonging to the Enterobacteriaceae family, a large and clinically important group of bacteria. In working with this family of bacteria, she has characterized and named many new species of Enterobacter and Proteus. Collaborations with colleagues in the United States and abroad have resulted in published descriptions of six additional species of Citrobacter, Providencia, and Enterobacter, as well as numerous contributions to national and international culture collections, adding to scientists' knowledge of these organisms. She is also a prolific author, with over 60 articles in the Journal of Clinical Microbiology, the International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology, and other peer-reviewed journals, acting as lead author in nearly half of these.

Mohr is further distinguished by her 20 years of extensive experience in evaluating automated systems used to identify gram-negative bacilli, a large group of bacteria often involved in infections. Mohr has published the results of these reviews, which have become invaluable sources of information for clinical microbiology laboratories. Her contributions have helped the CDC become the acknowledged leader in evaluating the commercial bacterial identification products available in the United States and abroad.

An exemplary colleague and dedicated mentor, Mohr is widely respected outside the laboratory as a tireless advocate for the bench microbiologist. A long-time member of the SouthEastern Association for Clinical Microbiology (SEACM), she has served in nearly every leadership role possible in SEACM, including president, secretary, and director-at-large. Mohr has long been a positive force in the careers of countless clinical microbiologists.

Mohr holds a B.S. in microbiology from the University of Southwestern Louisiana in Lafayette and an M.S. in biology from Middle Tennessee State University in Murfreesboro. She also earned a certificate in cytotechnology from St. Elizabeth's Hospital School of Cytotechnology, Youngstown, Ohio.

The Scherago-Rubin Award will be presented at the 104th General Meeting of the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), May 2327, 2004, in New Orleans, Louisiana. ASM is the largest single life science society, composed of over 42,000 scientists, teachers, physicians, and health professionals. Its mission is to promote research and training in the microbiological sciences and to assist communication between scientists, policymakers, and the public to improve health, economic well-being, and the environment.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.