APS announces 2004 Distinguished Lecturer Awards


Lectures to be given from April 18-20 in Washington, D.C.

Bethesda, Md. The American Physiological Society (APS) is pleased to announce its Award Lectures and Distinguished Lectureships for 2004. Presentations by award winners will be given at the Experimental Biology meeting in Washington, D.C. on April 17-20, 2004. Members of the press are welcome to attend.


Christine E. Seidman, M.D. Harvard Medical School
Physiology in Perspective: The Walter B. Cannon Award Lecture
This is the Society's highest award and is presented to an outstanding physiological scientist.
Lecture Presentation: "Human Genetics: New Clues for Physiology and Pathology" on April 17, 2004.

Robin L. Davisson, Ph.D. University of Iowa
The Henry Pickering Bowditch Lecture
This Lectureship is designed to recognize the research promise of an APS member under 42 years of age. The awardee is acknowledged for original and outstanding accomplishments in the field of physiology.
Lecture Presentation: "Unraveling Cardiovascular Disease Through Physiological Genomics" on April 18, 2004.

Kevin Fitzgerald, S.J., Ph.D.
Walter C. Randall Lecture in Biomedical Ethics
The Randall Lectureship, sponsored by the APS and Taylor University, promotes integrity in science, especially to students in training, and otherwise fosters the highest ethical standards in biomedical research, publication, teaching and interaction with the public sector.
Lecture Presentation: "Crossing Species Boundaries: Promethean, Pandoran or Just Plain Science?" on April 20, 2004.

R. Clinton Webb, Ph.D. Medical College of Georgia
Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Inaugural Award
2004 is the inaugural year for this award that honors an APS member judged to have made outstanding contributions to physiological research and demonstrated dedication and commitment to excellence in training of young physiologists. An award luncheon honoring Dr. Webb will be held on Sunday, April 18th.


Recipients of these Distinguished Lectureships are chosen by the 12 APS Disciplinary Sections as outstanding contributors and representatives of the best research within their field. Awardees are active participants at Experimental Biology, presenting their lectures and working with graduate and postdoctoral students during the meeting.

Peter Agre, M.D. (2003 Nobel Prize Laureate) - Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Hugh Davson Distinguished Lectureship (Cell and Molecular Physiology Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Aquaporin Water Channels at the Convergence of Physiology and Medicine" on April 19, 2004.

William Dantzler, M.D., Ph.D. University of Arizona College of Medicine
The August Krogh Distinguished Lectureship (Comparative Physiology Section)
Lecture Presentation: "A Vertebrate Renal Odyssey - Organic Solute Excretion and Water Conservation in Reptiles, Birds, and Mammals" on April 19, 2004.

Cliff Saper, M.D., Ph.D. Harvard Medical School
The Carl Ludwig Distinguished Lectureship (Neural Control and Autonomic Regulation Section)
Lecture Presentation: "A Hypothalamic Integrator for Circadian Regulation" on April 18, 2004.

Thomas Jentsch, M.D., Ph.D. Hamburg University
The Carl W. Gottschalk Distinguished Lectureship (Renal Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Chloride Transport in the Kidney: Insights from Mouse Models and Human Disease" on April 18, 2004.

Harold Modell, Ph.D. Physiology Education Research Consortium
Claude Bernard Distinguished Lectureship (Teaching Physiology Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Evolution of an Educator: Lessons Learned and Challenges Ahead" on April 18, 2004.

Paul Greengard, Ph.D. Rockefeller University
Joseph Erlanger Distinguished Lectureship (Central Nervous System Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Signal Integration in the Central Nervous System" on April 20, 2004.

Jerome Dempsey, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
Julius H. Comroe, Jr. Distinguished Lectureship (Respiratory Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Crossing the Apneic Threshold: Causes and Consequences" on April 18, 2004.

Bert O'Malley, M.D. Baylor College of Medicine
Solomon A. Berson Distinguished Lectureship (Endocrinology and Metabolism Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Signaling Through the Steroid Receptor Coactivators" on April 19, 2004.

Gary Owens, Ph.D. University of Virginia School of Medicine
Robert M. Berne Distinguished Lectureship (Cardiovascular Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Molecular Regulation of Smooth Muscle Differentiation in Development and Disease" on April 19, 2004.

Christopher Wilcox, M.D., Ph.D. Georgetown University Medical Center
Ernest H. Starling Distinguished Lectureship (Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Oxidative Stress and Functional NO Deficiency in the Kidney: A Critical Link to Hypertension?" on April 20, 2004.

John G. Forte, Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Horace W. Davenport Distinguished Lectureship (Gastrointestinal Section)
Lecture Presentation: "The Gastric Hydrogen Ion Cycle" on April 19, 2004.

V. Reggie Edgerton, Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
Edward F. Adolph Distinguished Lectureship (Environmental and Exercise Physiology Section)
Lecture Presentation: "Learning and Memory in the Spinal Cord" on April 20, 2004.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.