2004 Research in Periodontal Disease Award to Soskolne


Honolulu, Hawaii...Dr. Aubrey Soskolne, who has been Chairman and Head of the Department of Periodontics, Hebrew University-Hadassah, Faculty of Dental Medicine (Jerusalem, Israel) since 1982, has been selected to receive the 2004 Basic Research in Periodontal Disease Award from the International Association for Dental Research (IADR), convening here today for its 82nd General Session.

Born in 1941, Dr. Soskolne graduated from the Dental School of the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa, in 1965. He proceeded to England, where he was awarded a PhD from the University of London in 1971 for research in periodontics and oral pathology. He has made significant contributions to scientific literature in the fields of oral pathology, bone physiology, and the pathogenesis of periodontal diseases. Among his publications is a series of landmark studies on the ultrastructure of peripheral giant cell granulomas and the first evidence of the role of osteoblasts in what later became known as apoptosis of osteocytes. Based on experimental models used during collaboration with Drs. Nuki and Raisz, Dr. Soskolne developed an organ-culture model, for the study of bone remodeling, which has been used extensively to study bone physiology and the modulation of bone modeling by sex hormones for the purpose of understanding the role of sex hormones in bone pathology.

Dr. Soskolne was also a part of the team that developed the first biodegradable sustained-release delivery system for the treatment of periodontal disease, with Drs. Friedman and Sela. These studies have resulted in the development of a therapeutic device–the PerioChip. Dr. Soskolne has been active in the development of dental science in Israel and was one of the founding members of the Israeli Division of the IADR and served as its President. He has also been active in the IADR and the Periodontal Research Group of the IADR for many years and has been directly involved in stimulating and developing the academic careers of a new generation of dental scientists active in the fields of dental research, both in Israel and in the international arena. In addition, he has served on numerous committees of the IADR and chaired the Hatton Awards Committee for 3 years.

Supported by the Colgate-Palmolive Company, this award is designed to recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding achievements in basic research in periodontal disease.

The Basic Research in Periodontal Disease Award, which consists of a cash prize and a plaque, is one of 15 Distinguished Scientist Awards conferred annually by the IADR, representing the highest honor the IADR can bestow.

Dr. Soskolne received the award today during the Opening Ceremonies of the IADR's 82nd General Session.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.