2004 Oral Medicine/Pathology Research Award to Gutkind


Honolulu, Hawaii...Dr. J. Silvio Gutkind, a Senior Investigator in the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health (USA), and Chief of the Oral and Pharyngeal Cancer Branch, has been named the 2004 recipient of the Oral Medicine and Pathology Research Award, conferred by the International Association for Dental Research (IADR), convening here today for its 82nd General Session.

Dr. Gutkind received his PhD in pharmacy and biochemistry from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina. He joined the National Cancer Institute, USA, in 1988, where he carried out research on the normal and oncogenic functions of non-receptor protein-tyrosine kinases. He subsequently moved to the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, where he established a new program addressing the molecular basis of cancer by studying normal and aberrant functions of molecules involved in the transduction of proliferative signals. His laboratory has made seminal contributions to the field, and helped elucidate some of the basic molecular mechanisms whereby cell-surface receptors regulate the nuclear expression of growth-promoting genes. In 1998, he was appointed as the Chief of the Oral and Pharyngeal Cancer Branch. He also heads a multi-institutional effort aimed to elucidate the molecular mechanisms that contribute to the evolution of squamous cell carcinomas, and to use this knowledge to develop molecular markers of disease progression and novel therapeutic approaches in oral malignancies.

Dr. Gutkind has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the National Institute of Dental Research Director's Exemplary Service Award and the National Institutes of Health Merit Award. He has published over 200 scientific papers, and contributed numerous review articles and book chapters addressing both basic molecular mechanisms and oral cancer research The IADR Oral Medicine and Pathology Research Award is supported Sunstar Butler and consists of a cash prize and a plaque. It is one of 15 Distinguished Scientist Awards given annually by the IADR.

Dr. Gutkind received his award today during the Opening Ceremonies of the IADR's 82nd General Session.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on PsychCentral.com. All rights reserved.