Young scientists awarded for achievements in cancer research


To maintain the flow of keen minds into the research talent pool, the American Association for Cancer Research is holding two special programs for young scientists at this year's Annual Meeting: the AACR-Thomas J. Bardos Science Education Awards for Undergraduate Students, and the AACR Special Program for High School Students. The meeting will be held at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, March 27-31, 2004.

The programs give students an excellent opportunity to gain exposure to the professional world of cancer research and biomedicine. The AACR Science Education Committee organizes both.

Twenty undergraduate students will receive AACR-Thomas J. Bardos Science Education Awards. Dr. Bardos, a native of Hungary, came to the United States after World War II to earn a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Notre Dame. He went on to hold a full professorship at the State University of New York at Buffalo, where he was a member of the faculty until his retirement in 1995 and still holds emeritus status. He has been a member of the AACR for 45 years and has supported the Science Education Awards for college students since 1997.

Thanks to Dr. Bardos' support and dedication to the future of cancer research, recipients of the award receive financial support to attend two consecutive Annual Meetings. His contributions are matched by the AACR.

To qualify for the award, candidates must be full-time, third-year undergraduates majoring in science. There are 10 winners for 2003-2004, as well as the 10 winners from 2004-2005 who will be attending their second AACR Annual Meeting. The names and affiliations of the recipients are as listed below, in alphabetical order by state.

2004-2005 AACR-Thomas J. Bardos Science Education Awardees

Arizona William P. Hendricks, Arizona State University, Phoenix
Georgia Jonathan G. Iaconelli, Emory University, Atlanta
Louisiana Jeremy D. Daigle, Dillard University, New Orleans
Maryland Seth M. Miller, University of Maryland, Baltimore
Michigan Karl A. Merrick, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Ohio Christopher A. Alvarez-Breckenridge, The Ohio State University, Columbus
Oregon Daniel J. Albershardt, Oregon State University, Corvallis
Pennsylvania Elizabeth M. Chislock, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Zachary J. Reitman, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Utah Nyall R. London, Jr., Brigham Young University, Provo

2003-2004 AACR-Thomas J. Bardos Science Education Awardees

Arkansas Skeetora D. Taylor, University of Arkansas, Little Rock
California Brian S. Robinson, University of California, Davis
Colorado Joy K. Zartman, Colorado State University, Fort Collins
Connecticut Nancy Huynh, Yale University, New Haven
Illinois Divya Babbar, University of Illinois, Chicago
Massachusetts Dana L. Goldner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston
North Carolina Nicole D. Gaskins, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Ohio Michelle M. Kim, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland
Pennsylvania Kevin W. Jenkins, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
Canada Yasmin Deaniel, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario

Winners will be made Student Members of the AACR.

Under the auspices of the AACR Special Program for High School Students, about 300 students in the Orlando area also will get a chance to attend the Annual Meeting and present posters displaying the findings from their school projects. Participating schools include:

  • Apopka High School, Apopka, Fla.
  • Bishop Moore High School, Orlando, Fla.
  • Robert Hungerford Prepatory High School, Eatonville, Fla.
  • Lake Brantley High School, Altamonte Springs, Fla.
  • Orlando Christian Preparatory High School, Orlando, Fla.
  • Satellite High School, Satellite Beach, Fla.
  • Seminole High School, Sanford, Fla.
  • University High School, Orlando, Fla.
  • Oviedo High School, Oviedo, Fla.

These students will be given escorted tours of the posters and exhibit booths. They will attend lectures presented by accomplished cancer researchers Drs. Donald S. Coffey, Eduardo M. Sotomayor and Diana Montes, and have the opportunity to meet one-on-one with leading scientists to ask questions about many areas of research. The students also will attend a networking reception, where they can learn about job opportunities and summer internships in the Orlando area.

The Special Program for High School Students will be held from 9:30 a.m. to 2:45 p.m., Monday, March 29, 2004, in Room 414 CD of the Orange County Convention Center.

Source: Eurekalert & others

Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 21 Feb 2009
    Published on All rights reserved.